Skip to main content
Canvas myLAW Email Library Account Course and Research Guides A-Z Database List

About the Law Library

Our Services

The Law Library’s services include:

  • Workshops
  • One-on-One Research Guidance
  • Online Teaching Modules
  • Multiple Research Guides
  • Teaching Sessions for Courses in the First Year and Beyond

Technology

The library has a limited number of the following devices available for 4 hour checkouts:

  • Laptops
  • iPod
  • iPads

The library also has the following accessories available for checkout:

  • HMDI Cables
  • VGA Cables
  • Headphones
  • Apple Mini DisplayPort to HDMI Adapter

Interlibrary Loan

ILLiad is available for all UNT faculty, staff, and students to use. To use this service, you must be registered in ILLiad.

Loan Periods

Paying Fines

Course Reserves

The library’s collection includes all course books used that semester. These books are in the Reserve section of the library and are available for 2 hour checkouts. Books not returned or renewed after the 2 hour checkout accrue a fine of $2 per hour.

Audio/Visual Items

All audio visual items in the reserve section, are available for a 3 day checkout period.

Renewal of item is possible.

Database Access

Assistant Dean Hart has worked with the other UNT libraries to offer a robust collection of electronic resources in addition to the traditional print resources.  More resources may be added over time.

Database access is provided to members of the UNT Dallas College of Law community and, in some cases, to the UNT System and University of North Texas communities.

 

Access Type

Users

 Local Access 

 UNT Dallas College of Law community, UNT System community, University of North Texas  community

 Password  Access

 UNT Dallas College of Law students, UNT Dallas College of Law faculty, select UNT Dallas  College of Law staff

 

The following databases are IP authenticated. This means that you do not have to provide a user ID and password as long as you are either on-campus or connected to our VPN prior to accessing the materials.

The following databases are password protected and are only available to UNT Dallas College of Law students and faculty. These vendors are very protective of their information and do not allow user IDs and passwords to be shared.  You should never login someone else or provide your user ID and password to anyone, including employers. WestlawNext is restricted to academic use only (do not use it at a paid job). LexisNexis and Bloomberg allow you to utilize their products during law school for academic work and employment, but still have the sharing restrictions above.

There are additional databases available to law students for free or at low cost. The Law Library does not guarantee that it will provide technical support for these services, but it may offer training and/or instruction when time and interest permits.

  • CasemakerX
  • FindLaw
  • PACER
  • Ravel
  • Versus Law
Law School Education Dallas, North Texas, Texas | UNTD College of Law